RebKell's Junkie Boards
Board Junkies Forums

Does this Geno comment make sexual sense?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    RebKell's Junkie Boards Forum Index » NCAA Women's Basketball - General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GlennMacGrady

PostPosted: 04/04/15 11:58 am    ::: Does this Geno comment make sexual sense? Reply Reply with quote

"I don't coach women," the coach says. "I coach basketball players." He tells a story. He was practicing with his team before a game when the opposing team's female coach came out on the floor. "I'm telling my players how to play man-to-man defense. The other coach says: ‘You can't say that. It's person-to-person defense.' I said, ‘You're shittin' me.' She says, ‘But it's women playing it.' I say: ‘Yeah, but it's man-to-man. They're just pawns, without gender. I'm a gender-neutral coach.'"

http://deadspin.com/5895516/geno-auriemma-mr-womens-basketball

Does Geno's retort make sexual sense? Grammatical sense? Etymological sense? Discriminatory sense?

Relatedly, if you are in favor of using "person-to-person defense" when discussing or analyzing women's basketball, must you use that term when discussing or analyzing men's basketball or can you use "man-to-man" there?
Jet Jaguar

PostPosted: 04/04/15 12:39 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

That's the name of the defense. So yes, it makes sense.

PostPosted: 04/04/15 1:48 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

Jet Jaguar wrote:

In the same sense that "Redskins" is the name of the team in Washington, sure.

PostPosted: 04/04/15 2:04 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

pilight wrote:
Jet Jaguar wrote:

Really, you think man-to-man is a derogatory phrase?

dtrain34

PostPosted: 04/04/15 2:04 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

I have no problem with Geno saying women play "man-to-man" defense, I've see women roll their eyes when a coach says "person-to-person."