RebKell's Junkie Boards
Board Junkies Forums

BREAKING NEWS FROM GREENSBORO!!!!!!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    RebKell's Junkie Boards Forum Index » NCAA Women's Basketball - General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
njjosh

PostPosted: 04/01/08 9:03 am    ::: BREAKING NEWS FROM GREENSBORO!!!!!!! Reply Reply with quote

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- If you believe Vivian Stringer, it never is too late to teach an old dog new tricks.

On the eve of her team's regional championship game against top-ranked Connecticut, the Rutgers women's basketball head coach announced that her team will play offense when it has the basketball. Stringer will put that offense on display for the first time tonight when the Scarlet Knights try to get to their second straight final four.

"I've been a head coach for more than 30 years and I have never won a national championship," said Stringer, who previously had coached Cheney State and Iowa to Final Fours. "I also never seem to get any respect from the selection committee or the NCAA in general. I awoke in the middle of the night last night and realized there was a reason for that. So I did some studying this morning and I'm going to throw some actual offensive sets out there tonight that might allow us to score points."

Stringer wouldn't say what texts she studied. But inquiries at Greensboro-area bookstores revealed that Stringer purchased the book "Basketball Offense for Dummies."

Stringer is only the third women's coach, along with Tennessee's Pat Summit and former Texas coach Jody Conradt, to amass 800 wins. Her teams have also been known for great defensive play, in particular the "55" scheme she has used at Rutgers.